Today in Sports History: August 30

On this day in 1997, the WNBA crowned their first championship team in league history. The Houston Comets defeated the New York Liberty 65-51 to claim the league’s inaugural championship. The Houston Comets would continue to dominate the WNBA, ultimately becoming the league’s first dynasty. Led by their big three consisting of Cynthia Cooper, Sheryl Swoopes and Tina Thompson, the Comets racked up four consecutive titles from 1997-2000. Unfortunately, the team was disbanded in 2008 after failing to find new ownership. However, the legacy of this historic franchise continues to live on. To date, only the Minnesota Lynx matches the Houston Comets in championship wins and no other team has won four consecutive titles since.

Leave a Reply