Today in Sports History: April 24

The NBA Board of Governors approved the creation of the Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) in 1996. The WNBA began its first season of play in 1997 with eight teams. The Houston Comets won the first four WNBA Championships. Currently, the WNBA has 12 teams. The regular season is from May to September and the All-Star game takes place during July, except on Olympic years. The Women’s Basketball League (WBL) was the first professional women’s basketball league in the U.S. but the WNBA was the only one to get the NBA’s seal of approval. The first WNBA game was between the New York Liberty and the Los Angeles Sparks.

Leave a Reply