Today in Sports History: April 7

In 1989, the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) dropped restrictions on professional basketball players competing in international events and the Olympics. FIBA currently has 213 national federations, organized into five zones: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania. Every four years the teams compete for the Naismith Trophy. The FIBA Women’s Basketball Cup is also held on the same schedule until 2014 when it switched to a different year so as not to coincide with the men’s tournament. In 2011, FIBA introduced the 3×3, the three-player half-court variation. The U-18 championships are held annually. In 2019, FIBA teams had record numbers of NBA players – 54 players representing 17 different countries.

Leave a Reply