Today in Sports History: November 16

By Veronica An

The NBA Development League, formerly known as the D-League, hosted its inaugural game, a 2001 match up between the Greenville Groove and the North Charleston Lowgators. The league began with 8 teams and, after a brief dip to 6 teams in 2002-5, has been expanding ever since. The D-League was renamed the G-League, short for Gatorade League, after a 2017 sponsorship deal with the sports drink company. G-League teams play a 50-game season and, according to the G-League website, 52 percent NBA players have minor league experience. unlike the NBA, the G-League accepts players straight out of high school as long as they’re 18 at the time of the draft. Teams are either owned or affiliated with NBA teams. There are currently 28 teams in the G-League.

Leave a Reply