Today in Sports History: May 17

By Jonah Sharf

On May 17, 1993, Pat Riley was named NBA Coach of the Year for his efforts in leading the New York Knicks to their second 60-win season in franchise history. The Knicks would go on to lose to Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls in the Eastern Conference Finals. This was the second time Riley won the award, which made him the fifth coach to win it twice—the list has now grown to eight coaches. Riley would win the award again in 1990, with the Los Angeles Lakers. His three Coach of the Year Awards tie him for the most in NBA history with legends Don Nelson and Gregg Popovich.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s