Today in Sports History: September 27

Embed from Getty Images

By Jonah Sharf

On September 27, 2005, the Atlanta Braves clinched their 14th straight division title, which remains the record for most consecutive division titles in MLB history, and the 14 straight postseason appearances as a result is also a record. The Braves dynasty is one of the most unprecedented and unparalleled runs in baseball history, and they were led by manager Bobby Cox. They were primarily known for a very talented pitching staffโ€”which consisted of Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, and John Smoltz, to name a fewโ€”that won an amazing six Cy Young Awards during this run. They also had excellent position players such as Andruw Jones and Chipper Jones, the latter of whom won an MVP Award. The Braves made it to five World Series during the run, but only won once, in 1995.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s